What is Heritage ?

Heritage comprises of anything that one generation passes down to the next and plays a central role in shaping identity, of both people and place. Our heritage consists of aspects of the past that we value in the present and what we choose to pass on to future generations.

Heritage can be divided into three main strands:

Built Heritage: Archaeology, historical sites, buildings and vernacular features.

NaturalHeritage: Our waterways, landscapes, woodlands, bogs, uplands, native wildlife, insects, plants, trees, birds and animals.

Cultural Heritage: Tangible cultural heritage includes archaeological and heritage objects. Intangible cultural heritage includes the Irish Language, folklore, oral history, placenames, music, dance, sport, literature and customs.


Heritage Act 1995: Under the Heritage Act (1995), heritage is defined as comprising of the following: Archaeological Objects; Architectural Heritage; Fauna; Flora; Geology; Heritage Gardens & Parks; Heritage Objects; Inland Waterways; Monuments; Seascapes; Wildlife Habitats; and Wrecks.

  • Ireland Structural and Investment Funds
  • EU European Regional Development Fund
  • Leitrim Heritage Logo